Our network


INBRE grant and awards lead to important addition to chemistry lab

BATESVILLE, Ark. (KTHV) - Four Lyon students and two faculty members have received awards from the IDeA Network for Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) for their research efforts and work in various aspects of Lyon’s science programs.

The INBRE Undergraduate Student Mentoring Program gives fellowships to Arkansas juniors and seniors majoring in science, math, and computer science so they may participate in summer research programs at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, or the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. These fellowships also include stipends and budgets for research supplies as well as travel expenses to present the students’ summer research at national conferences.

The students who received these fellowships were Jason Lochmann, ’16, Jean de Dieu Mugiraneza, ’16, Megan Parks, ’17, and Jami Schmidt, ’17.

Lyon students attend West Magnet College Day

Lyon students attend West Magnet College Day

BATESVILLE, Ark. – For Brandi Allen and her kindergarten son, Rhys, College Day at West Magnet Elementary did not seem right without real college students.

The school’s Red Ribbon Week for awareness of drug-free living included special themed dress-up days during the week. On College Day, Rhys brought his Scots sword and wished he could hang out with some Lyon football players.

Her son’s wish gave Allen an idea. She contacted his teacher and some Lyon students and coordinated a visit to the classroom. These students celebrated College Day by reading stories to all of the kindergarten classes. Jennifer Keys, Bethany Butler, Becca Burrow, and Kristen Blagg represented the Phi Mu sorority among the student volunteers. Scots football players Jon Alexander and Jordy Wyble also volunteered, as well as APPLE Project Upward Bound staff members Jeanette Youngblood, Cory Godbolt, and Allen herself.

Jefferson Co. Sheriff's Office issues reminder to parents on child identification

Jefferson Co. Sheriff's Office issues reminder to parents on child identification

JEFFERSON COUNTY, Ark. - (Oct. 29, 2015 – With recent flash news alerts regarding missing children, teens, and others alike throughout the state, the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office decided to issue a reminder to all parents regarding the indentification of their children. 

Major Lafayette Woods, Jr. issued the following statement on Thursday:

When a child or someone you know is reported missing, emotions become raw, which can hinder the ability of parents or love ones to make rational decisions. Yet, their actions and the actions of law enforcement in the first 48 hours are critical to the safe recovery of a missing. Knowing what you can do, what others can do, and where to go for help will not only expedite the search and recovery of your child or love one, it also will help to ease the emotional and financial burden of the search.

The Batesville Symphony League Presents Soloist Limmie Pulliam

The Batesville Symphony League Presents Soloist Limmie Pulliam

BATESVILLE, Ark. (KTHV) - Lyon College will be hosting Soloist Limmie Pulliam with Delta Symphony Orchestra on Sunday, November 1. 

The Batesville Symphony League will present Pulliam on November 1 at 3 p.m. The performance will take place at Lyon College Brown Chapel.

Ticket prices include:

Adult- $15

Senior- $12

Student- $5

Family- $30

Lyon faculty, staff and students-free

You can purchase tickets to the show by contacting kmelson@firstcommunity.net

UACCB to host third annual Cyber Security Summit

UACCB to host third annual Cyber Security Summit

BATESVILLE, Ark. – With cybercrimes becoming an ever-growing concern, it is important for the public to educate themselves about the threats and ways to protect themselves from these crimes.

The University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville will present a Cyber Security Summit lasting from 1 p.m. till 3:30 p.m. on October 27 in the Nursing and Allied Health Building Lecture Hall, room 902.

This is a free event, and the public is invited to attend.

Four named Arkansas Teacher of the Year state finalists

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — Four outstanding teachers were named 2016 Arkansas Teacher of the Year state finalists at a recognition event today with Gov. Asa Hutchinson and Arkansas Department of Education Commissioner Johnny Key. 

“Selecting just four teachers from an exceptional group of talented educators was a difficult process,” Key said. “The four state finalists chosen, however, have demonstrated leadership, knowledge and the ability to inspire students in the classroom. I congratulate them, as well as their administrators and fellow educators.”

The four state finalists are as follows:

Meghan Ables

11th Grade English/Literacy
Stuttgart High School
Stuttgart School District
Arkansas River Education Service Cooperative 

Brenda Galliher

UACCB nursing program meets accreditation requirement

BATESVILLE, Ark. – The University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville’s nursing program has met full accreditation compliance for Standard 2: Faculty Degree Requirements. 

According to Marietta Candler, UACCB interim division chair of nursing and allied health, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing determined after a follow-up report the community college’s RN program had 100 percent of full-time faculty possessing a master’s degree and greater than 50 percent of part-time faculty possessing a master’s degree. ACEN accreditation is a voluntary process that is peer reviewed and enhances quality improvement in nursing education.