Our network

AETN to host four debates in ‘Election 2012’ | Politics

Title (Max 100 Characters)

AETN to host four debates in ‘Election 2012’
AETN to host four debates in ‘Election 2012’

Democrat, Green, Independent, Republican candidates to participate in debates

CONWAY, Ark. (AETN) — Candidates in four races have agreed to participate in “Election 2012: The Debates,” which will tape and air on the Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) Oct. 23-25.

All debates will be held at the AETN studios, 350 South Donaghey Avenue, on the University of Central Arkansas campus in Conway. Seating is limited, and seats may be reserved by calling 800-662-2386. Doors will open one hour prior to taping times.

Debates, which will air on the same day they are taped, include:

  • U.S. Congressional District 1, with candidates Scott Ellington (D), Jacob Holloway (G) and Jessica Paxton (L), taping Tuesday, Oct. 23, at 10 a.m. and airing at 7 p.m. Repeats Sunday, Nov. 4, at 1:30 p.m. Rick Crawford (R) is not scheduled to attend.
  • U.S. Congressional District 2, with candidates Tim Griffin (R), Chris Hayes (L), Herb Rule (D) and Barbara Ward (G), taping Tuesday, Oct. 23, at 2 p.m. and airing at 8 p.m. Repeats Sunday, Nov. 4, at 2:30 p.m.
  • U.S. Congressional District 3, with candidates Rebekah J. Kennedy (G), David Pangrac (L), and Steve Womack (R), taping Thursday, Oct. 25, 10 a.m. and airing at 7 p.m. Repeats Sunday, Nov. 4, at 4 p.m.
  • U.S. Congressional District 4, with candidates Thomas Cotton (R), Joshua Drake (G), Gene Jeffress (D) and Bobby Tullis (L), taping Thursday, Oct. 25, at 2 p.m. and airing at 8 p.m. Repeats Sunday, Nov. 4, at 5 p.m.

In addition to keeping viewers informed about the candidates, “Election 2012: The Ballot Initiatives” will air Friday, Oct. 26, at 6:30 p.m. A panel of representatives from the University of Arkansas Policy Center will discuss Proposed Constitutional Amendment No. 1, an amendment to provide additional funding for state highways, county roads, city streets, bridges and other surface transportation, as well as Proposed Constitutional Amendment No. 2, concerning municipal and county financing of sales tax anticipated revenue bond projects, unfunded liabilities of closed local police and fire pension plans, and real and tangible property. Also included will be a discussion of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act. “Election 2012: The Ballot Initiatives” will repeat Sunday, Oct. 28, at 4 p.m.; Friday, Nov. 2, at 10 p.m.; and Sunday, Nov. 4, at 6:30 p.m.

Additional information is available at aetn.org/elections.

AETN makes all debates available free of charge to all commercial and public television and radio stations for simulcast or rebroadcast. Interested networks should contact Carole Adornetto at 800-662-2386 to specify a format and make arrangements for receiving the debates.

"Election 2012: The Debates" is produced in partnership with AARP Arkansas and the University of Central Arkansas.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network (AETN) is Arkansas’s statewide public television network that enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers. AETN depends on the generosity of Arkansans and the State of Arkansas to continue offering quality programming. For more information, visit aetn.org, or follow the AETN blog at aetn.org/engage. AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro), and KETZ (El Dorado).